dull in denver

Dear Meryl,

I recently started a blog through WordPress that pays attention and documents the migration of pigeons in Canada, along with several other migratory birds. My intent is to regularly inform the readers of the flight patterns of these species. Despite my attempts with various informative charts and records of the flights, I seem to receive little to no response toward my posts. How can I make my content more appealing for readers?

reena1

Yours truly,

Dull in Denver

Dear Dully,

Your hard work is quite admirable if not endearing. But as easy as it is for you to read your chart, my fragile brain and everyone else’s is hurting from the amount of information. Frankly, I’d rather watch ice melt. Lucky for you, Avinash Kaushik, blogger of Occam’s Razor, wrote 7 Data Presentation Tips, to help you organize your data. One tip that I think you can benefit from is: Bring insane focus, and simplify.

I’m sure a lot of blood, sweat, and tears went into the formation of this chart, but frankly, it’s not very attractive. Out of the kindness of my heart, I revised (a part of) it so that everyone can understand your document, ergo, more (potential) readers.

Voila!

Screen Shot 2015-04-14 at 12.06.54 AM

As you can see above, I changed the name of the species to their common name, simplified the text, and minimized the numerical information.

Condensing and shrinking the information allows people to read and understand it quicker. Because we live in an image driven society, there has been a rise in visual culture as we use images in order to communicate (i.e. Emojis). With a graph that’s colour coordinated, the rows can be distinguished from each other, making the information easily read.

If you want to go the extra mile, you could even add an additional column for pictures of each species.

Good luck,

Meryl

Leave a Reply

